Each year the Washington State Hospital Association recognizes the excellent work of individuals and organizations who make health care better for the residents of our state. Awards are given annually during WSHA’s Annual Meeting in October. Click on the links on the left for more information.

34th Annual Joe Hopkins Memorial Award

*Note: Only Administrators/CEOs and Trustees/Commissioners can make nominations*

Joe Hopkins Award logo 2019The Joe Hopkins Memorial Award was created in 1987 to acknowledge an individual who displays the spirit of Joe Hopkins’ vision and dedication to Washington’s hospitals, with a special focus on his interest in rural health.

Winners can be hospital administrators, board members, or other notable leaders in rural health care, and winners are chosen by a committee of past recipients.

2019 Winner: Tom Wilbur

Community Health Leadership Award

Community Health Leadership Award logo 2019Hospitals, health systems and public hospital districts are increasingly called upon to address the health needs of their entire community.

All WSHA members can make nominations, and all qualifying nominees will have their projects featured as part of the Annual Meeting, on WSHA’s website and in WSHA’s Weekly Report, which is sent to nearly 4,000 subscribers.

2019 Winners: Seattle Chidren’s, MultiCare Health System

Ben Lindekugel Governance Excellence Award

Ben Lindekugel Governance Excellence Award logoThe Governance Excellence Award is new in 2019 and will be given by WSHA’s Hospital Governing Boards Committee to a hospital board member or commissioner who has displayed exemplary leadership and community service. All WSHA members can make nominations.

2019 Winner: Scott Hilburn


Contact Us

Washington State Hospital Association
999 Third Avenue
Suite 1400
Seattle, WA 98104

Map / Directions

206.281.7211 phone
206.283.6122 fax

Staff List