Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Behavioral Health Webinar Series – Supporting ED Providers in Suicide Prevention Best Practices

September 22, 2021 @ 12:00 pm - 1:30 pm

Historically, EDs have had to assume major responsibilities for meeting the needs of individuals experiencing a behavioral health crisis. Approximately 4,000 of these individuals in Washington state seek suicide care in EDs each month, with potentially even higher rates of risk in the wake of COVID-19. With the groundbreaking passage of national and state 9-8-8 laws, the landscape of behavioral health crisis is expected to be transformed. Despite these changes, it provides the opportunity for EDs to redefine their role in the system and advocate for resources needed to effectively identify and manage patients at risk for suicide. This webinar seeks to support ED administrators and providers for this role. It will debut a new checklist and resources that have been developed through a collaboration with ED providers and includes input from individuals with lived experience and their families. This event will also highlight best practices in suicide care happening in ED settings across WA state.


  • Name the burden of suicidality in ED settings in WA state, and rise since COVID-19
  • Discuss key barriers in ED settings
  • Define key components of quality suicide prevention care across the spectrum
  • Introduce a new checklist & resources
  • Provide commentary on resources by ED provider


Paul R. Borghesani, MD, PhD, is an Associate Professor in the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences at the University of Washington School of Medicine (UWSOM). As a past recipient of a Medical Scientist Training Program (MSTP) award, he completed his MD-PhD in the Harvard/MIT Program of Health Sciences and Technology with his thesis work in development neurobiology. He is board certified and currently work as a staff psychiatrist at Harborview Medical Center (HMC) where he is the Medical Director for the Psychiatric Emergency Services (PES). Additionally, he is also the Director of Psychiatry Clerkships at the UWSOM, coordinating clinical education in psychiatry cross the 5 state WWAMI region (WA, WY, AL, MT and ID). In this capacity, he routinely lectures to primary care providers and residents on suicidality, psychosis, psychopharmacology and drug abuse.

C. Ryan Keay, MD, began working with North Sound Emergency Medicine (NSEM) in July, 2009. She was elected to the NSEM Board of Directors in May of 2014, and appointed ED Medical Director for Providence Regional Medical Center Everett in October of 2014. In addition to working at North Sound Emergency Medicine, Dr. Keay spent four years as a clinical instructor at Harborview Medical Center. Some of Dr. Keay’s other professional responsibilities include serving on the Board of Directors for Washington American College of Emergency Physicians (WA-ACEP) and the Washington Poison Center (WAPC); both since 2015. Dr. Keay has also held various roles within national ACEP, including Councilor and Chair for the Medical Director’s Section. Outside of the above work, she works in EMS education, including roles as former MPD for Lake Stevens Fire and as faculty at the Leavenworth Paramedic Lecture series since 2015.

Sarah Porter, MHS, is a second year doctoral and MSW student at the University of Washington’s School of Social Work. Ms. Porter’s research focuses on state-level policies stemming from the 9-8-8 national suicide prevention hotline legislation and identifying opportunities for systemic changes in suicide care that can expand access to care and equity. Sarah’s background is in public mental health research focusing on program development and implementation.

Taylor Ryan, MS, received her master’s degree in Human Development and Family Sciences from the University of Delaware in 2018 where she focused her studies on mental health and stigma. She then spent two years at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health working as the lead study coordinator for a Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) funded project focused on improving mental health outcomes for youth seen in the pediatric emergency department for suicide risk. Taylor currently works full time with Dr. Jennifer Stuber at the University of Washington where she is focused on suicide prevention in schools and healthcare settings.

Jennifer Stuber, Ph.D., is a health services researcher, a professor at the University of Washington who has been focused on policy and systems improvement in suicide prevention and behavioral health for the last decade. She is the co-founder, the director of Forefront suicide prevention for a decade and is a co-creater of All Patients Safe, a widely used suicide prevention training for health professionals across the state of Washington.

Jessie Whitfield, MD, MPH, is a board-certified psychiatrist with a background in behavioral health integration and an interest in developing and disseminating systems solutions to behavioral health issues that present in medical settings. Dr. Whitfield is currently an Acting Assistant Professor at the University of Washington and Core Faculty at the Advancing Integrated Mental Health Solutions (AIMS) Center. Dr. Whitfield practices clinically as a psychiatric consultant at UW Medical Center Behavioral Health Integration Program (BHIP) and Outpatient Psychiatry Clinic and provides training and implementation support to various AIMS Center behavioral health implementation efforts as a Psychiatric Consultant Coach. She has experience teaching a range of interdisciplinary trainees (including behavioral health care managers, clinic administrators, practicing psychiatrists, and psychiatry residents and fellows) about safety assessments and suicide prevention protocols.

Register Here


September 22, 2021
12:00 pm - 1:30 pm
Event Category:
Registration Link:


Brooke Evans
Cindy Ferguson


Contact Us

Washington State Hospital Association
999 Third Avenue
Suite 1400
Seattle, WA 98104

Map / Directions

206.281.7211 phone
206.283.6122 fax


Staff List