Recognize excellence by nominating your peers for a WSHA award

July 8, 2021

It’s officially award season at WSHA, and I would like to invite you to recognize excellence by nominating your peers for one of WSHA’s awards! Each fall, WSHA presents the Joe Hopkins Memorial Award, the Ben Lindekugel Governance Excellence Award and the Community Health Leadership Award to members who have excelled in their roles. The deadline for all nominations is Aug. 23, and you can make a nomination on the WSHA website at The awards will be presented during WSHA’s 2021 Annual Meeting eSeries.

The Joe Hopkins Memorial Award is given as a lifetime achievement award to a health care leader who has displayed continuing dedication to Washington hospitals, and the award has a special focus on rural health. This is WSHA’s greatest honor and has been a hallmark of the association since 1987. A committee of former winners chooses the award recipient each year.

The Ben Lindekugel Governance Excellence Award, now in its third year, is given to a board member or commissioner who has displayed exemplary leadership. This award recognizes the many ways these individuals guide their organizations to success, often to the benefit of their entire community.

The Community Health Leadership Award is WSHA’s only award given to an entire organization, and it recognizes work being done to improve the health of the larger community in innovative and lasting ways. It showcases exciting projects that can frequently be replicated by other Washington hospitals and health systems for an even larger community benefit.

There is amazing work happening across our state. Help us recognize those who have made that work a reality! Please reach out to Communications Director Tim Pfarr at for more information about our awards program.


Contact Us

Washington State Hospital Association
999 Third Avenue
Suite 1400
Seattle, WA 98104

Map / Directions

206.281.7211 phone
206.283.6122 fax

Staff List