Congratulations to the WSHA award winners!

October 19, 2016

Thank you to all our members who joined us last week in the wind and the rain in Seattle for our 84th Annual Member Meeting! We want to extend a heartfelt congratulations to the winners of the Joe Hopkins Memorial Award, the Achieving Best Care Award and the Community Health Leadership Award. Each exemplified outstanding work to improve the health of their communities.

Joe Hopkins Memorial Award Winner: Gregg Davidson, FACHE

Gregg Davidson, who served Skagit Valley Hospital and Skagit Regional Health for 37 years, was awarded the prestigious Joe Hopkins Memorial Award for outstanding leadership.

He served as superintendent/chief executive officer of Skagit Regional Health/Public Hospital District No.1 since 2003. He holds a bachelor’s degree from the University of Washington and a Master’s of Science in healthcare administration from Trinity University in San Antonio, Texas. He also recently completed his term as Chair of the Washington State Hospital Association Board.

WSHA CEO Scott Bond had this to say about Gregg: “Gregg has really shown how even mid-sized hospitals can bring in a wide variety of services, specialties and community programs to a region. He’s also shown how rural and public hospital districts can take meaningful leadership roles in the key issues of our time: mental health, equity of care, and end of life decision-making. He has really raised the bar.”

Congratulations Gregg on becoming the next recipient of the Joe Hopkins Memorial Award. Click here to read more about the award.

Achieving Best Care Award Winners:

The Achieving Best Care award seeks to recognize health care organizations that are performing well on a broad variety of measures aimed at providing the best care possible for each and every patient. Click here to read more about the award. This year’s winners were:

  • Capital Medical Center
  • EvergreenHealth
  • EvergreenHealth Monroe
  • Forks Community Hospital
  • Grays Harbor Community Hospital
  • Harrison Medical Center
  • Mary Bridge Children’s Hospital & Health Network
  • Mason General Hospital & Family of Clinics
  • MultiCare Good Samaritan Hospital
  • Providence Centralia Hospital
  • UW Medicine/University of Washington Medical Center

Community Health Leadership Award Winners:

The Community Health Leadership award is given annually to health care organizations that are serving their community’s broader health needs in innovative and lasting ways. You can read all the program descriptions here.

The 2016 Community Health Leadership gold award winners and their initiatives are:

  • Healthy Children, Mason General Hospital & Family of Clinics
  • The Providence Sexual Assault Clinic and Child Maltreatment Center, Providence St. Peter Hospital

The 2016 Community Health Leadership silver award winners and their initiatives are:

  • Cardiopulmonary Services, Sunnyside Community Hospital and Clinics
  • John Hughes Student Health Center, Sunnyside Community Hospital and Clinics
  • Diabetes Wellness Initiative for Central Washington, Yakima Valley Memorial Hospital
  • Peer Bridgers, Navos and Harborview Medical Center
  • Aging Mastery Program, Morton General Hospital
  • Highline Health Connections: Care Navigation for Vulnerable Populations, Highline Medical Center
  • Medical Unit-1, Confluence Health, Central Washington Hospital
  • FD Cares, UW Medicine/Valley Medical Center
  • SCH Cancer Center, Sunnyside Community Hospital and Clinics


Antimicrobial stewardship

WSHA also recognized the state Department of Health (DOH) as an important partner in advancing quality care. Together, WSHA and the DOH recognized hospitals for their patient safety work in the area of antimicrobial stewardship. The DOH Antimicrobial Stewardship Honor Roll can be found here. (Mary Kay Clunies-Ross)


Contact Us

Washington State Hospital Association
999 Third Avenue
Suite 1400
Seattle, WA 98104

Map / Directions

206.281.7211 phone
206.283.6122 fax

Staff List